TanzLabor
DE

ResearchLab

©guidostuchphoto.com
photography: Guido Stuch

The ResearchLab consists of up to four residencies per year. It is aimed at supporting dance by nurturing emerging choreographers to realize their ideas from concept to live performance.

 

ABOUT THE RESEARCHLAB

ReserachLab promotes innovative ideas, encourages artistic risk-taking, and aims to enrich the creative imagination within the dance scene. By offering optimal conditions for dance artist:ing and dialogue with the audience in open rehearsals, ROXY's ResearchLab aims to create greater awareness of the limitless possibilities of dance and its ability to connect and inspire people. 

Dance projects with up to five dancers can apply for each ResearchLab. The selected artists will receive a production budget from ROXY, rehearsal opportunities for approximately three weeks, as well as a living allowance, travel expenses, and on-site housing. ROXY also provides equipment for video recording of the work. The results of the ResearchLab will be performed publicly in the ROXY's PerformanceLab program at the Werkhalle. 

 

Documentation

ResearchLab #1: Jasmine Ellis

Jasmine Ellis

Residence: 05.03.-22.03.2021 

Onomatopoeia (lat.)

The dancers Adaya Berkovich and Woosang Jeon stand on stage without an audience and try to understand if what they say is heard - or if the meaning of what they mean is missed. A short furious dance film in a single take! (duration 10 minutes)

Choreography, Director: Jasmine Ellis
Dancers: Adaya Berkovich, Woosang Jeon
Dramaturg: Martina Missel
Cinematography: Ray Demski
Music: Anton Berman
Lighting: Svenja Zielenda
Production: Jasmine Ellis Projects / Bad Posture Productions / ROXY TanzLabor 2021

Filmed in March 2021 at the ROXY Ulm

Jasmine Ellis is a Canadian choreographer and film director based in Munich. A graduate of the "Etobicoke School of the Arts", the "School of Toronto Dance Theatre" and the "Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory", she has been working professionally in dance as a performer and choreographer since 2006.  Jasmine Ellis is also an award-winning film director and artistic director of the production company "Bad Posture Productions". She has choreographed in Berlin, Florence, Groningen, Montreal, Munich, Tilbury, Toronto and Winnipeg, among other cities. 

A production of Jasmine Ellis Projects // Bad Posture Productions // TanzLabor Ulm

jasminellis.com

 
"Working at the TanzLabor - ResearchLab in Roxy gave me the opportunity as a choreographer to shut out some of the noise and really concentrate on the artists in the studio with me and the ways in which we want to create. It’s wonderful to work in a place that navigates the organization with the artists interested at the heart of their decision-making. The team was composed of welcoming, interesting, smart and thoughtful people. The TanzLabor is an ideal space to create in, and having access also to the Werkhalle and other facilities and technical staff was really great! We really look forward to coming back again soon!"
Jasmine Ellis
 
ResearchLab #2: Yotam Peled

Yotam Peled

Residence: 24.05.—12.06.2021

FAUNA FUTURA - Live dance performance by Yotam Peled & The Free Radicals 

"We may have forgotten the wilderness. We have moved far away from it, from our innermost selves, but nature has not abandoned us. Those who leave the layers of noise behind can feel the undercurrents, can see the beacon, can hear the call." 

"Fauna Futura" shows the journey of five dancers inside their bodies and the body of the land that asks them to forget, to surrender, to grow. As roots and branches, they travel together, expanding and climbing in different directions, to merge by osmosis with the landscape into a new entity - the animal of the future. (Duration: approx. 35 minutes)

Choreography: Yotam Peled
Dancers: Hemda Ben Zvi, Amie-Blaire Chartier, Marie Hanna Klemm, Nitzan Moshe and Erin O'Reilly
Music: Nicolas Fehr
Lighting design: Hanna Kritten Tangsoo
Costume and set designer: Moran Sanderovich
Dramaturgy: Valentin Vincent Braun 
Production manager: Sofia Fantuzzi
Communication & management: Laia Montoya / TINA Agency
Lighting technician: Patrick Rabus
Camera: Josef Sälzle, Andreas Usenbenz, Rob Stirner / Studio sechzehn

Production: Yotam Peled & The Free Radicals 

Funded by Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and supported by TanzLabor Ulm.

yotampeled.com

 
"The ResearchLab at Tanzlabor ROXY Ulm was an intense and beautiful period for our team. It was an opportunity to work with great professional conditions and artistic freedom. We felt supported and welcomed by the team, and at the same time that we had the space to dive into our specific universe without the need to please or entertain anyone. We were happy to share our process with the team and audience of ROXY and to be part of a living cultural space."
Yotam Peled
 
ResearchLab #3: Sofia Nappi

Sofia Nappi

Residence: 15.09. - 05.10.2021

REVA

REVA, from Hindi: "to gather strength", "rain", asks the question: What if you woke up tomorrow and had nothing left of what we often take for granted in everyday life? Nowadays, we are often so conditioned by our interpretation of the past and our expectations of the future that we live in a constant survival mode, desperately trying to find meaning and purpose for our limited lives. If you suddenly found yourself naked with nothing to lose, you would probably instead join the universal dance of life and the unconditional love of the present moment. It's like getting caught in the rain: either you try in vain to run away from it and not get wet, or you stop and consciously choose to feel the rain and thus connect with the universe.

Choreography: Sofia Nappi
Dancers: Paolo Piancastelli
Costumes: Sofia Nappi
Lighting: Sofia Nappi 
Production: Sosta Palmizi with KOMOCO/ Sofia Nappi
Co-production: TanzLabor - ROXY Ulm
 
REVA was created in collaboration with dancer Paolo Piancastelli.
With the support of Opus Ballet, DeDa Productions, Teatro Affratellamento
 
Duration: 20 min.  
 
 
 
"ROXY TanzLabor felt like our creative nest, where we felt safe to go beyond familiar limits with both a peaceful mind and hunger for growth."
Sofia Nappi
 
ResearchLab #4: KOR'SIA

KOR'SIA

Residence: The ResearchLab #4 couldn't take place due to Corona and unfortunately the piece couldn't be realized in the TanzLabor.

BIRD

Bird is a new project that combines choreography with natural and social sciences, questioning the way we live and perceive our environment.  

The idea was born from the study of the behavior of animals, especially birds, and the correspondences in human behavior. The emotional sphere, languages, relationships between peers, the ability to build and decorate nests, and love rituals, among others, are the starting points of the choreographic research.  

The aim is to increase the awareness of the relationship with others through the instinctive and expressive human character and through the evocative abilities of the human body.   

In the creative process of the KOR'SIA collective, music is the essential element of the choreographic composition. In this case, the sound space is designed to captivate the viewer, mixing classical, electronic and environmental music to appeal to different emotional sensations. 

Choreographer/Director: KOR'SIA
Dancers: Mattia Russo and Antonio de Rosa
Lighting design: KOR'SIA 
Music: Various artists, collage 
Dramaturgy: KOR'SIA and Guiseppe Dagostino 
 
Supported by the Spanish Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports // Government of Spain, Municipality of Madrid, City of Madrid. 
 
 
ResearchLab #5: Julia Maria Koch

Julia Maria Koch

Residence: 09.05. - 17.06.2022

EDEN

What would have happened if Adam and Eve had been different people?

EDEN is a multidisciplinary movement piece that combines dance, music, voice work and poetry with a strong physical and visual approach.

The work deals with the always relevant questions of freedom and humanity, but also with the fantasy of another beginning, not as a new beginning, but conceived as a hypothesis about other possibilities and choices.

According to the Swiss philosopher Emil Angehrn, the beginning can be experienced in three different ways:
As the opening of a free space.
As the release of possibilities.
As the installation of a ruling power.

EDEN is an intellectual experiment that discusses the heterogeneity of the raised questions and reflects the tension that is inherent in reference to the origin as a whole - which can be experienced and grasped by means of bodies in space and thus collectively shared and carried forward.

Concept and choreography: Julia Maria Koch
Dance and creation: Romane Petit, Camille Jackson, Yadira Rodríguez, Erick Odriozola, Fabio Calvisi
Music/ Composition: Konstantin Heuer, Thorolf Thuestad
Co-composition, performance, voice and text work: Alwynne Pritchard
Lighting design: Torsten Lippstock
Costume: Julia Maria Koch with design work and friendly support of Studio DRKRM and daijanala, Berlin
Tailor: Ibrahim Biawa

EDEN was created as part of the TanzLabor ResearchLab and is a joint co-production with E-Werk and Tanz-Netz Freiburg. The premiere was performed at the Ulm Moves! Dance Festival.

Special thanks to Bine Eberhardt.

 

FAQ

What is the ResearchLab?

The ResearchLab is a platform that facilitates dance works by providing studio space, travel, local accommodation for up to 5 artists, a living allowance and a co-production budget. We will also provide equipment for a video recording of the work that would be premiered as part of our PerformanceLab program. 

When do the ReserachLabs take place?

ResearchLab #6: The rehearsal phase will start on December 12, 2022, with the premiere scheduled for December 17, 2022 as part of the #ShowMeYourMoves performance.

Who can apply?

Local/Global young, emerging and established choreographers are welcome to apply. We are looking to support ambitious 'dance makers' from diverse backgrounds. The ResearchLab offers residencies to choreographers of all kinds of dance styles. The ResearchLab is a melting pot of dance techniques, it is where different dance methodologies mix to create innovative dance for our audiences. Choreographers are welcome to apply with a 'work in progress'. 

Where will the ResearchLab take place?

The residency will take place in our Labor 1|12, offering 160m2 of space, please find full details here. The Performance of the piece will take place as part of our PerformanceLab program in the Werkhalle on a stage of 12m x 10m (please full details of here) or in the Studio (104m2, for more details click here).

How can I apply?

Calls for ResearchLabs will be announced here on our website and on our social media channels.

Please share with us your concept that you would like to develop during the ResearchLab. Please attach your resume, any videos of a work in progress, and links to recordings of other choreographic work of yours.

For questions about the application and more information, please contact the artistic director of the DanceLab, Pablo Sansalvador. E-Mail

Why does the ResearchLab exist?

It exists to support dance makers realize new and exciting works: from concept to performance. Each ResearchLab has two open rehearsals that provides our audiences with the opportunity to see and observe the creation process before its premier in our PerformanceLab program. It offers a cultural exchange between the resident artists and Ulms artistic community. It establishes Ulm as a city that moves the independent dance scene. By co-producing choreographic works that have the quality to be performed beyond the city of Ulm, the ResearchLab creates works that will ambassadors for Ulm in the national and international dance scene. 

 
Social Media

follow the TanzLabor on

Newsletter

subscribe to our TanzLabor-newsletter

TanzLabor
EN

ResearchLab

©guidostuchphoto.com
Foto: Guido Stuch

Mit vier geplanten Residenzen im Rahmen des ResearchLabs 2021 unterstützt das ROXY aufstrebende Choreograf:innen und Compagnien dabei, ihre Ideen für ein Tanzstück vom Konzept bis zur Aufführung zu realisieren.

 

ÜBER DAS RESEARCHLAB

Das ReserachLab fördert innovative Ideen, ermutigt zum künstlerischen Risiko und möchte die kreative Fantasie innerhalb der Tanzszene bereichern. Durch das Angebot optimaler Bedingungen für Tanzkünstler:innen und den Dialog mit dem Publikum in offenen Proben möchte das ROXY mit dem ResearchLab ein stärkeres Bewusstsein für die grenzenlosen Möglichkeiten des Tanzes und seine Fähigkeit, Menschen zu verbinden und zu inspirieren, schaffen. 

Für jedes ResearchLab können sich Tanz-Projekte mit bis zu fünf Tänzer:innen bewerben. Die ausgewählten Künstler:innen erhalten vom ROXY ein Produktionsbudget, bekommen Probenmöglichkeiten für ca. drei Wochen sowie einen Zuschuss zum Lebensunterhalt, Reisekosten und eine Unterkunft vor Ort. Außerdem stellt das ROXY Equipment für eine Videoaufnahme der Arbeit zur Verfügung. Die Ergebnisse des ResearchLabs werden im PerformanceLab-Programm des ROXY öffentlich in der Werkhalle aufgeführt. 

 

Dokumentation

ResearchLab #1: Jasmine Ellis

Jasmine Ellis

Residenz: 05.03.—22.03.2021 

Onomatopoeia (lat.) = Lautmalerei
Die Tänzer:innen Adaya Berkovich und Woosang Jeon stehen ohne Publikum auf der Bühne und versuchen zu verstehen, ob das, was sie sagen, gehört wird – oder ob die Bedeutung dessen, was sie meinen, verfehlt wird. Ein kurzer furioser Tanzfilm in einer einzigen Einstellung! (Dauer 10 Minuten)

Choreografie, Regie: Jasmine Ellis
Tänzer:innen: Adaya Berkovich, Woosang Jeon
Dramaturgin: Martina Missel
Cinematografie: Ray Demski
Musik: Anton Berman
Lichttechnik: Svenja Zielenda
Produktion: Jasmine Ellis Projects / Bad Posture Productions / ROXY TanzLabor 2021

Gedreht im März 2021 im ROXY Ulm

Jasmine Ellis ist eine kanadische Choreografin und Filmregisseurin mit Wohnsitz in München. Als Absolventin der „Etobicoke School of the Arts“, der „School of Toronto Dance Theatre“ und des „Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory“ arbeitet sie seit 2006 professionell im Tanz als Performerin und Choreografin.  Jasmine Ellis  ist  zudem  preisgekrönte  Filmregisseurin  und  künstlerische  Leiterin  der Produktionsfirma „Bad Posture Productions“. Sie choreografierte bisher u.a. in Berlin, Florenz, Groningen, Montreal, München, Tilbury, Toronto und Winnipeg. 

Eine Produktion von Jasmine Ellis Projects // Bad Posture Productions // TanzLabor Ulm

jasminellis.com

 
"Die Arbeit im TanzLabor - ResearchLab im Roxy ermöglichte es mir als Choreografin, einen Teil des Lärms auszublenden und mich wirklich auf die Künstler im Studio zu konzentrieren und auf die Art und Weise, wie wir gemeinsam etwas erschaffen wollen. Es ist wunderbar, an einem Ort zu arbeiten, der die Organisation so gestaltet, dass bei der Entscheidungsfindung das Interesse der Künstler im Mittelpunkt steht. Das Team war gastfreundlich, interessant, intelligent und aufmerksam. Das TanzLabor ist ein idealer Ort zum Arbeiten, und auch der Zugang zur Werkhalle, zu anderen Einrichtungen und zum technischen Personal war wirklich großartig! Wir freuen uns schon darauf, bald wiederzukommen!"
Jasmine Ellis
 
ResearchLab #2: Yotam Peled

Yotam Peled

Residenz: 24.05.—12.06.2021

FAUNA FUTURA - Live-Tanzperformance von Yotam Peled & The Free Radicals 

„Wir mögen die Wildnis vergessen haben. Wir haben uns weit von ihr entfernt, von unserem innersten Selbst, aber die Natur hat uns nicht verlassen. Wer die Schichten des Rauschens hinter sich lässt, kann die Unterströmungen spüren, kann das Leuchtfeuer sehen, kann den Ruf hören.“ 

„Fauna Futura“ zeigt die Reise von fünf Tänzer:innen in ihre Körper und in den Körper des Landes, das sie auffordert zu vergessen, sich hinzugeben, zu wachsen. Als Wurzeln und Äste reisen sie gemeinsam, expandieren und klettern in verschiedene Richtungen, um durch Osmose mit der Landschaft zu einer neuen Einheit zu verschmelzen – dem Tier der Zukunft. (Dauer: ca. 35 Minuten)

Choreografie: Yotam Peled
Tänzer:innen: Hemda Ben Zvi, Amie-Blaire Chartier, Marie Hanna Klemm, Nitzan Moshe und Erin O'Reilly
Musik: Nicolas Fehr
Licht-Design: Hanna Kritten Tangsoo
Kostümen-und Bühnenbildnerin: Moran Sanderovich
Dramaturgie: Valentin Vincent Braun
Produktionsleitung: Sofia Fantuzzi
Kommunikation & Management: Laia Montoya / TINA Agency
Lichttechniker: Patrick RabusKamera: Josef Sälzle, Andreas Usenbenz, Rob Stirner / Studio sechzehn
Produktion: Yotam Peled & The Free Radicals 
 
Gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien und wurde unterstützt vom TanzLabor Ulm.
 
 
 
"Das ResearchLab im Tanzlabor ROXY Ulm war eine intensive und schöne Zeit für unser Team. Es war eine Gelegenheit, unter großartigen professionellen Bedingungen und mit künstlerischer Freiheit zu arbeiten. Wir fühlten uns vom Team unterstützt und willkommen, und gleichzeitig hatten wir den Raum, in unser eigenes Universum einzutauchen, ohne jemanden zufriedenstellen oder unterhalten zu müssen. Wir waren glücklich, unseren Prozess mit dem Team und dem Publikum von ROXY zu teilen und Teil eines lebendigen kulturellen Raums zu sein."
Yotam Peled
 
ResearchLab #3: Sofia Nappi

Sofia Nappi

Residenz: 15.09. - 05.10.2021

REVA

REVA, aus dem Hindi: "Kraft tanken", "Regen", stellt die Frage: Was wäre, wenn du morgen aufwachst und nichts mehr von dem hast, was wir im Alltag oft als selbstverständlich ansehen? Heutzutage sind wir oft durch unsere Interpretation der Vergangenheit und unsere Erwartungen an die Zukunft so konditioniert, dass wir in einem ständigen Überlebensmodus leben und verzweifelt versuchen, einen Sinn und ein Ziel für unser begrenztes Leben zu finden. Wenn du plötzlich nackt dastehen würdest, ohne etwas zu verlieren, würdest du dich wahrscheinlich stattdessen dem universellen Tanz des Lebens und der bedingungslosen Liebe des gegenwärtigen Augenblicks anschließen. Es ist, wie wenn man in den Regen gerät: Entweder versucht man vergeblich davor wegzulaufen und nicht nass zu werden oder man bleibt stehen und entscheidet sich bewusst dafür, den Regen zu spüren und so eine Verbindung mit dem Universum einzugehen.

Choreografie: Sofia Nappi
Tänzer: Paolo Piancastelli
Kostüme: Sofia Nappi
Licht: Sofia Nappi 
Produktion: Sosta Palmizi mit KOMOCO/ Sofia Nappi
Koproduktion: TanzLabor - ROXY Ulm
 
REVA wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Paolo Piancastelli entwickelt.
Mit der Unterstützung von Opus Ballet, DeDa Productions, Teatro Affratellamento.
 
Dauer: 20 min.
 
 
 
"Das ROXY TanzLabor fühlte sich wie unser kreatives Nest an, in dem wir uns sicher fühlten, mit einem ruhigen Geist und dem Hunger nach Wachstum über vertraute Grenzen hinauszugehen."
Sofia Nappi
 
ResearchLab #4: KOR'SIA

KOR'SIA

Residenz: Das ResearchLab #4 konnte aufgrund von Corona nicht stattfinden und das Stück konnte leider nicht im TanzLabor umgesetzt werden.

BIRD (Vogel)

Bird ist ein neues Projekt, das Choreographie mit Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften verbindet und die Art und Weise, wie wir leben und unsere Umwelt wahrnehmen, in Frage stellt.  

Die Idee entstand aus dem Studium des Verhaltens von Tieren, insbesondere der Vögel, und der Entsprechungen im menschlichen Verhalten. Die Gefühlssphäre, die Sprachen, die Beziehungen zwischen Gleichaltrigen, die Fähigkeit, Nester zu bauen und zu schmücken sowie die Liebesrituale sind neben anderem die Ausgangspunkte der choreografischen Forschung.  

Ziel ist es, das Bewusstsein für die Beziehung zu Anderen durch den instinktiven und ausdrucksstarken menschlichen Charakter und durch die evokativen Fähigkeiten des menschlichen Körpers zu steigern.   

Im kreativen Prozess des KOR'SIA-Kollektivs ist die Musik das wesentliche Element der choreografischen Komposition. In diesem Fall ist der Klangraum so gestaltet, dass er den Betrachter in seinen Bann zieht, indem er klassische, elektronische und Musik aus der Umwelt mischt, um verschiedene emotionale Empfindungen anzusprechen. 

Choreograph/Regisseur: KOR'SIA
Tänzer: Mattia Russo und Antonio de Rosa
Lichtdesign: KOR'SIA 
Musik: Verschiedene Künstler, Collage 
Dramaturgie: KOR'SIA und Guiseppe Dagostino 
 
Unterstützt durch das spanische Ministerium für Bildung, Kultur und Sport // Regierung von Spanien, Gemeinde Madrid, Stadt Madrid.
 
 
ResearchLab #5: Julia Maria Koch

Julia Maria Koch

Residenz: 09.05. - 17.06.2022

EDEN

Was wäre passiert, wenn Adam und Eva einfach andere Menschen gewesen wären?

EDEN ist ein multidisziplinäres Bewegungsstück, die Tanz, Musik, Stimmarbeit und Poesie mit einem starken physischen und visuellen Ansatz verbindet.

Die Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit den stets relevanten Fragen von Freiheit und Menschlichkeit, aber auch mit der Fantasie über einen anderen Anfang, nicht als Neuanfang, sondern gedacht als Hypothese über andere Möglichkeiten und Entscheidungen.

Nach dem Schweizer Philosophen Emil Angehrn kann der Anfang auf drei verschiedene Arten erlebt werden:
Als Eröffnung eines Freiraumes.
Als das Freigeben von Möglichkeiten.
Als Einsetzung einer herrschenden Macht.

EDEN ist ein intellektuelles Experiment, das die Heterogenität der gestellten Fragen erörtert und die Spannung widerspiegelt, die dem Bezug auf den Ursprung als Ganzes innewohnt – was Anhand von Körpern im Raum erfahrbar und (be)greifbar wird und somit kollektiv geteilt und weitergetragen werden kann.

Konzept und Choreographie: Julia Maria Koch
Tanz und Kreation: Romane Petit, Camille Jackson, Yadira Rodríguez, Erick Odriozola, Fabio Calvisi
Musik/ Komposition: Konstantin Heuer, Thorolf Thuestad
Co-Komposition, Performance, Stimm-und Textarbeit: Alwynne Pritchard
Lichtdesign: Torsten Lippstock
Kostüm: Julia Maria Koch mit Designarbeiten und freundlicher Unterstützung von  Studio DRKRM und daijanala, Berlin
Schneider: Ibrahim Biawa

EDEN ist im Rahmen des TanzLabor ResearchLabs entstanden und ist eine gemeinsame Koproduktion mit dem E-Werk und dem Tanz-Netz Freiburg. Die Premiere wurde beim Ulm Moves! Tanzfestivals aufgeführt.

Besonderen Dank an Bine Eberhardt.

 

FAQ

Wann finden die ResearchLabs statt?

ResearchLab #6: Die Probenphase startet am 12. Dezember 2022, die Premiere ist für den 17. Dezember 2022 im Rahmen der #ShowMeYourMoves Aufführung geplant.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Junge aufstrebende, aber auch etablierte Choreograf:innen und ambitionierte "Tanzmacher" mit unterschiedlichstem Hintergrund. Alle Tanzstile sind möglich. Choreograf:innen können sich auch mit einem "work in progress" bewerben. 

Wo finden die ResearchLabs statt?

Die Probenphasen der ResearchLabs finden im Labor 1|12 statt (160m² Fläche, alle Details findet ihr hier). Die Aufführungen finden in der Werkhalle auf einer Bühne von 12m x 10m (120m² Fläche, alle Details findet ihr hier) oder im Studio (104m² Fläche, alle Details findet ihr hier) im Rahmen unseres PerformanceLab-Programms statt.

Wie kann man sich bewerben?

Ausschreibungen für die ResearchLabs werden hier auf unserer Website und auf unseren Social Media Kanälen bekannt gegeben.

Bitte teilt uns euer Konzept mit, das ihr während des ResearchLabs entwickeln möchtet. Fügt bitte euren Lebenslauf, eventuelle Videos eines "work in progress" und Links zu Aufnahmen von anderen choreografischen Arbeiten von euch an.

Für Fragen zur Bewerbung und weitere Informationen kontaktiert bitte den künstlerischen Leiter des TanzLabors, Pablo Sansalvador. 
E-Mail 

 
Social Media

folge dem TanzLabor

Newsletter

abonniere den TanzLabor-Newsletter